Making a Cutting Mat Riser and Lighting Platform!

This laser-cut riser for desktop cutting mats is inspired by Adam’s Die Filer platform that he made in a recent One Day Build. Norm talks through his design process for making this tray for small modelmaking projects, which can also be used as a custom jigsaw puzzle platform or LED-lit soft box for displaying and photographing tabletop figures. Download the file to make your own!

Project vector file (for .2″ thick material): https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:4424120
8″x12″ Alvin Cutting Mat: https://amzn.to/3gWdgma
LED light strip: https://amzn.to/3ePmcrA
Atmosphere aerosol haze spray: https://amzn.to/3ePicqZ
Helping hands: https://amzn.to/3eLXbNR
Jigsaw puzzle vector generator: https://community.glowforge.com/t/jigsaw-puzzle-generator/9284

Tested t-shirt in video: https://cottonbureau.com/products/tested-logo-exploded-diagram#/3594302/

Shot and edited by Norman Chan

Tested Ts, stickers, mugs and more: https://teespring.com/stores/adam-savages-tested

Subscribe for more videos (and click the bell for notifications): http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=testedcom
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/testedcom
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/testedcom
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/testedcom/
Discord: https://www.discord.gg/tested
Amazon Storefront: http://www.amazon.com/shop/adamsavagestested

Tested is:
Adam Savage http://www.twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan http://www.twitter.com/nchan
Joey Fameli http://www.joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch https://guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser https://www.instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Jen Schachter http://www.jenschachter.com
Kishore Hari http://www.twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth http://www.twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams http://www.twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer https://www.instagram.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran https://twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman https://youtube.com/arielwaldman
Kristen Lomasney https://twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman
Set design by Danica Johnson http://www.twitter.com/saysdanica
Set build by Asa Hillis http://www.asahillis.com

#testedfromhome
Thanks for watching!