Talking About Alyx – This is Only a Test 544 – 3/26/20

The release of Half-Life: Alyx is the big story, and we spend plenty of time going over the game and the decisions Valve made to push the limits of VR. (All of our discussion is spoiler-free this week). We also chat about what the maker community is doing to provide its support during the covid19 crisis, and what could happen next. Stick around for an interview with Valve’s Robin Walker and Corey Peters, as well as our spoiler alert review of the latest Picard episode!

Show notes links:

Nation of Makers report: https://docs.google.com/document/d/11ToBl0_OZ7Xe9ZJXq9P4AZXCWA8pxpoBNuatH8E2Oqk/edit?usp=sharing
3d printers sign up: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSdVfWaQi31l8VNUY6CVctJm5bElMmBKL7YG3mHY8ASvvcwrag/viewform
Make’s report on the maker community’s response: https://makezine.com/2020/03/22/whats-plan-c-for-covid-19/
Bill Gates talk on covid19: https://www.facebook.com/TED/videos/1071228706574778/

Tested Ts, stickers, mugs and more: https://teespring.com/stores/adam-savages-tested

Subscribe for more videos (and click the bell for notifications): http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=testedcom
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/testedcom
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/testedcom
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/testedcom/

Tested is:
Adam Savage http://www.twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan http://www.twitter.com/nchan
Simone Giertz http://www.twitter.com/simonegiertz
Joey Fameli http://www.joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch https://guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser https://www.instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Jen Schachter http://www.jenschachter.com
Kishore Hari http://www.twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth http://www.twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams http://www.twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer https://www.instagram.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran https://twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman https://youtube.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney http://www.twitter.com/thebrokennerd83
Kristen Lomasney https://twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman
Set design by Danica Johnson http://www.twitter.com/saysdanica
Set build by Asa Hillis http://www.asahillis.com

Thanks for watching!