3D Modeling, Printing, and Painting a Custom Gundam!

We attend our first Gunpla and mecha modelmaking convention–NewType’s Buildcon in San Francisco–and meet some incredible modelmakers who’ve brought a variety of builds. Artist Kaz Adams’ Janus build was especially striking, since she designed, 3D modeled, 3D printed, and finished this detailed model, essentially making her own kit. We chat with Kaz about her design process and how she took an initial sketch to a fully realized figure.

Find more of Kaz’s work at https://www.artstation.com/syncrasis

Shot by Gunther Kirsch and edited by Norman Chan

Subscribe for more videos! http://www.youtube.com/tested
Follow us on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/testedcom
Get updates on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/testedcom

Tested is:
Adam Savage http://www.twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan http://www.twitter.com/nchan
Simone Giertz http://www.twitter.com/simonegiertz
Joey Fameli http://www.joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch https://guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser https://www.instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Kishore Hari http://www.twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth http://www.twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams http://www.twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer https://www.instagram.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran https://twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman http://www.youtube.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney http://www.twitter.com/thebrokennerd83
Kristen Lomasney https://twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman