Science Fiction’s Influence on UFO Pop Culture – Offworld Episode 29

On Offworld this week, Ariel is joined by guests Rose Eveleth and Laura Welcher to discuss the 1977 film Close Encounters of the Third Kind. From the culture of UFO obsessives and the idea of music as a communication tool, we look at this science fiction film’s legacy in popular media and the search for extraterrestrial life.

Listen to Rose’s podcast Flash Forward here: https://www.flashforwardpod.com/

Subscribe for more videos! http://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=testedcom
Follow us on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/testedcom
Get updates on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/testedcom

Tested is:
Adam Savage http://www.twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan http://www.twitter.com/nchan
Simone Giertz http://www.twitter.com/simonegiertz
Joey Fameli http://www.joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch https://guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser https://www.instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Kishore Hari http://www.twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth http://www.twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams http://www.twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer https://twitter.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran https://twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman http://www.youtube.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney http://www.twitter.com/thebrokennerd83
Kristen Lomasney https://twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman
Set build by Asa Hillis http://www.asahillis.com
Set design by Danica Johnson http://www.twitter.com/saysdanica

Thanks for watching!